Iowa Lands In AHL Midwest Division

The Iowa Wild, Minnesota’s American Hockey League affiliate, will play in the AHL’s Midwest Division. The club’s new division will include (NHL affiliate in parenthesis): Chicago Wolves (St. Louis), Grand Rapids Griffins (Detroit), Milwaukee Admirals (Nashville) and Rockford IceHogs (Chicago). Visit the Iowa Wild’s website for the AHL’s complete realignment.

The format for the 2014 Calder Cup Playoffs will and remain
the same as 2013: Eight teams in each conference will qualify for the postseason, with the three division winners earning the top three seeds and the next five best teams in order of regular-season points seeded fourth through eighth. The conference quarterfinals will be best-of-five series; the conference semifinals, conference finals and Calder Cup Finals will be best-of-seven series. Teams will be re-ordered after the first round so that the highest-remaining seed plays the lowest-remaining seed.

The playing schedule for the Iowa Wild 2013-14 regular season, which begins Oct. 4, will be announced later this summer.

Check out potential Iowa and future Minnesota prospects at today’s Wild Development Camp 3-on-3 tournament at Xcel Energy Center. Gate One opens at 2 p.m., with the games underway at 2:30 p.m. The tournament is free and open to the public.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s