Larsson Earns Rookie Of The Year Honors

Wild prospect Johan Larsson has been awarded Rookie of the Year in the Swedish Elite League (SEL). Larsson was selected by Minnesota in the second round (56th overall) of the 2010 NHL Entry Draft.

The 19 year old had 36 points (12-24=36) in 49 games in his rookie season with Brynas of the SEL. Larsson finished regular season ranked third on Brynas in scoring and assists.

Brynas has advanced to the finals of the SEL. Larsson has four points (1-3=4) in 10 playoff games. Brynas will face Skellefteå for the SEL championship this week.

Earlier this year, Larsson captained Sweden to the gold medal at the 2012 IIHF World Junior Championships. He led the team with six assists.

Here is a list of previous SEL Rookie of the Year winners:

2000-2001 – Henrik Zetterberg
2001-2002 – Rolf Wanhainen
2002-2003 – Tobias Enström
2003-2004 – Loui Eriksson
2004-2005 – Oscar Steen
2005-2006 – Nicklas Bäckström
2006-2007 – Patric Hörnqvist
2007-2008 – Daniel Larsson
2008-2009 – Victor Hedman
2009-2010 – Jacob Markström
2010-2011 – Mattias Ekholm


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s