Bouchard Gets Good News

The Lighthouse was turned off today despite the open scrimmage at Xcel Energy Center today, but that doesn’t mean there isn’t news to report. If you weren’t one of the 2,500 people at the rink today, hopefully you were able to catch some hockey action on the live stream right here on Wild.com. If you didn’t see it, Team White upstaged Team Green with a 5-1 drubbing. So, don’t let anybody tell you that Minnesota teams were winless today. Team White would beg to differ.

Nick Schultz, Jon DiSalvatore, Andrew Brunette, Brent Burns and Carson McMillan picked up the goals for White. The lone green tally came off the stick of Robbie Earl.

But the feel good story happened before the scrimmage when Pierre-Marc Bouchard skated with assistants Dave Barr and Darby Hendrickson. “Butch” got some great news following his visit to a Denver neurologist yesterday. Here’s his exact quote, courtesy of Ryan Stanzel, who you might remember from his R.S.S feed posts:

“I did a bunch of tests (Saturday) I failed last year, but I passed this time. It’s a great sign. I got the green light to start pushing harder on the ice and in the gym. I skated with Barrzie and Darby this morning. I’m pretty sure for the next few days I’ll be skating by myself. When the doctor tells you that you can push hard, it’s a great feeling. I’ve been waiting for it for a long time.”

He finished by saying: “I want to start the season. That’s my goal. But right now one day at a time.”

Everybody will be back on the ice again tomorrow. If there is a scrimmage, you can sleep well tonight knowing that there will be ample coverage on “View from the Lighthouse” tomorrow. Try not to think too much about a fourth-and-one run up the middle.

Leave a Reply

